Love goody – Kärleksmums

Tomorrow it’s Valentine ’s Day! A day filled with love and sweet stuff. Unfortunate I’m at work from early morning to late night, so my celebration will be quite limited. But, since I got an excuse for taking out my bowls from the cabinet I decided to bake what we in Sweden call “love goody” that is the straight translation of “Kärleksmums”. It’s a chocolate cake with a chocolate frosting that’s topped with either grated coconut (my favorite) or some sort of sprinkles. I actually do not know any single person that doesn’t like theses “love goody”s so it’s a safe card to go with! And to be completely honest, this is my BIG weakness in life. I could eat the whole oven tray for myself, no problem. I’m glad that I promised my boyfriend to get some for his job, otherwise the just mentioned would be reality…

feb 13 016 (640x424)

Imorgon är det alla hjärtans dag! En dag fylld med kärlek och massa sött och gott. Tyvärr är jag på jobbet från tidig morgon till sen kväll, så mitt firande blir ganska begränsat. Men, eftersom jag fått en anledning till att ta ut mina bunkar från köksskåpet så bestämde jag mig för att baka kärleksmums. Jag tror helt ärligt att jag inte känner en enda som inte tycker om kärleksmums och ska jag vara ärlig så är jag totalt galen i det! Det är till och med så illa att jag skulle kunna äta upp en hel plåt själv, inga problem. Jag är därmed väldigt glad (eller okej, känslorna är trots allt tudelade) över att jag har lovat sambon att han ska få ta med en hel drös till jobbet, annars hade det precis nämnda troligen hänt här hemma, plåten hade varit tom och min mage hade gjort ont…

This recipe comes from Leila Lindholm, one of my favorit pastry makers in Sweden. This recipe give you more “adult” cakes than ordinary recipes of Kärleksmums does. I will soon give you a post about the traditional ones, but until then you’ll have to keep up whit this one.

Receptet kommer ursprungligen från Leila Lindholm och det här är en mer vuxen version än de vanliga varianterna. Jag kommer inom en snart framtid att posta ett recept på ett mer barnvänligt recept men tills dess får ni hålla till godo med detta!

The cake
5 eggs
1 ¾ cup sugar
A bit more than 2 cups flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 pinch salt
5 tbsp. good quality cacao powder
1 tsp vanilla sugar
4/5 cup water
300 g butter, melted
200 g dark chocolate

Put the oven on 200 degrees Celsius.
Place greaseproof paper in a big oven tray (about 12*16 inches, 40*30 cm).
Chop the chocolate roughly.
Whip eggs and sugar until white and fluffy.
Stir together all dry ingredients in one bowl and then gently turn them into the egg blend.
Add water and melted butter and stir around until the batter is completely mixed.
Pour the batter into the oven tray and spread the chopped chocolate on top.
Bake in the oven for about 15 minutes.
Let the cake rest until cold.

Frosting
4/5 cup cream
2 tbsp. espresso coffee
200 g dark chocolate
4/5 cup grated coconut (or if you prefer sugar sprinkles or finely chopped nuts to go with a more adult style)

Boil cream, add espresso coffee and let it chill a bit.
Finely chop the chocolate and then let it melt down into the cream/coffee blend.
Spread the frosting over the cake.
Sprinkle over grated coconut and let the frosting stiffen, preferably in the fridge.
Cut the cakes into squares and serve with a smile!

feb 13 011 (640x424)

feb 13 015 (640x424)

Kakan
5 ekologiska ägg
4 dl strösocker
4 ½ dl vetemjöl
3 tsk bakpulver
1 nypa salt
5 msk kakao
1 tsk vaniljsocker
2 dl vatten
300 g smör, smält
200 g mörk choklad

Sätt ugnen på 200 grader.
Klä en långpanna med bakplåtspapper (ca 40*30 cm).
Hacka chokladen grovt.
Vispa ägg och socker vitt och fluffigt.
Sikta ner de torra ingredienserna i en bunke, blanda om och vänd sedan försiktigt ned dem i äggsmeten.
Tillsätt vatten och smält smör och rör om tills smeten är väl blandad.
Häll smeten i långpannan och strö sedan över den hackade chokladen.
Grädda kakan mitt i ugnen i ca 15 minuter.
Låt kakan svalna.

Glasyr
2 dl grädde
2 msk espresso
200 g mörk choklad
2 dl riven kokos eller strössel om du hellre önskar (går även bra att använda finhackade nötter för en mer vuxen karaktär)

Koka upp grädde och kaffe, låt svalna något.
Finhacka chokladen och smält sedan ner den i gräddblandningen.
Häll glasyren på kakan och strö över kokos.
Låt glasyren stelna, gärna i kylen, och skär sedan ut rutor och mumsa i dig!

Leave a word

