Hummus

If there is something that I love when it comes to food its meze. So, to still my cravings I tried to make my own, smooth delicious hummus. I didn’t get any tahini at home, which I have found out to be a big ingredient in the traditional dish, but I have to say that I managed pretty well without it. So, tahini may be good in a hummus, but you will do fine without it.
A big question to many out there may be how to use this dip. I’ll tell you that you can server it to almost anything, tacos, meze, bread, meat or to vegetables. It will give every meal an extra ump (given that you are as crazy as I am about this little delicious piece of food). So go ahead and try it out, it’s really simple and delicious.

jan 20 002 (640x424)

Om det finns något som jag älskar när det kommer till mat så är det meze. Så, för att stilla mina behov så testade jag att göra min egen, mjuka, goda hummus. Jag hade ingen tahini hemma, vilket ofta är en basingrediens i hummus, men jag måste faktiskt säga att jag lyckades väldigt bra utan den. Så, tahini kanske gör hummusen väldigt god, men du kommer klara dig bra utan den.
Nu, den stora frågan som kanske alla frågar sig är vad man ska ha den här röran till. Jag skulle vilja säga att ni kan servera den till nästan vad som helst så som tacos, meze, bröd, kött eller till grönsaker. Det kommer att ge er rätt en extra kick (givet att ni är lika frälsta i hummus som jag är). Våga testa att göra er egen hummus, det är verkligen enkelt!

Hummus to 4 persons
1 can cooked chickpeas
1-2 tbsp olive oil
1 clove of garlic
1/5-1/4 cup of water (or more depending on the texture you like)
Smoked paprika powder
Cayenne pepper
Coriander
Cumin
Salt

Put all ingredients except for the spices in a mixer or blender and mix until you get a smooth texture. Add water until you get the thickness you prefer. Now, add spices to you hummus. I prefer mine to have a pinch of heat, which is why I use paprika and cayenne, but if you like it more traditional, stay with the cumin and coriander. Season until you get the taste you like.

jan 20 003 (640x424)

Hummus till 4 personer
1 burk kokta kikärtor
1-2 msk olivolja
1 vitlöksklyfta
½ dl vatten (eller mer, beror på hur du vill ha konsistensen på hummusen)
Rökt paprika pulver
Cayennepeppar
Spiskummin
Koriander
Salt

Lägg alla ingredienserna förutom kryddorna i en mixer och kör tills du har fått en slät smet. Tillsätt mer vatten ifall du önskar hummusen lösare. Nu är det dags att krydda. Jag gillar att ha lite hetta i min hummus, vilket är anledningen till paprikapulver och cayennepeppar, men om du vill ha en mer traditionell hummus så håll dig då till spiskummin och koriander. Smaka av och krydda till dess att du är nöjd med smaken.

2 thoughts on “Hummus

Leave a word

