Buns with Saffron – Lussekatter

Lussekatter, can’t find any English word for this traditional Swedish Christmas bun. But I don’t think that I need to since you will get stuck with this little darling after trying it out! It’s made from traditional bun dough but seasoned with saffron, which also is why the dough got this wonderful yellow/orange color. Since I absolutely love lussekatter, I have a thing that I do every year, the yearly lussekatts competition. I usually make lussekatter out from two different doughs and then I invite my near family to vote for the best one, which also is the one that will be served on Christmas! This year’s winner is the same as last year, so I guess that I have found the perfect recipe! I won’t be selfish so of course I’ll give it to you as well. And don’t forget to tell me about your best recipe so that I have some new versions for next year’s competition!

dec 19 006 (800x530)

Lussekatter är ännu ett ord som inte behöver beskrivas i någon store utsträckning. Det är min absoluta favorit och jag kan verkligen äta mängder! Men, jag är galet kräsen. Ge mig absolut inte en torr, smaklös en, för då kan jag lika väl vara utan. Nej, de ska vara fluffiga, saftiga och ha en tydlig smak av saffran. Åh, jag blir alldeles varm bara av att tänka på det. Eftersom lussekatter är en stor passion för mig så ställer jag varje år till en lussekattstävling där två olika sorters lussekatter tävlar mot varandra om att ta förstaplatsen och således även vinna förtroendet för att serveras på julafton. Detta året vann samma recept som förra, så självklart tänker jag dela med mig av mitt fantastiska recept till er! Glöm inte bort att dela med er av era bästa recept till mig så att jag ha några nya varianter att testa nästa år!

About 30 lussekatter
1 g saffron
A splash of cognac
75 g yeast
500 g cold milk
1200 g flour
200 g sugar
150 g room tempered butter
5 g salt

Raisins put into water
Egg

Put the saffron in the cognac, the sooner the better. I usually do this the day before I’m about to bake, but if you just let it be for 10 minutes it’s good to. This process really helps the saffron to spread out it’s lovely flavors through the whole dough.
Dissolve the yeast in the milk and then add the rest of the ingredients.
Work the dough for about 15-20 minutes by hand or 10-12 minutes in a baking machine.
Let the dough rest for 10 minutes.
Now, it’s time to make the lovely lussekatter! Split the dough into 30 small pieces and then roll out each little bit to a long sausage and then twirl the sides in to the middle.
Let the lussekatter ferment on an oven tray with greaseproof paper for about 1 hour.
Before putting them into the oven, brush them with a beaten egg and put raisins into the twirls, or if you better like, sprinkle over some confectionary sugar.
Bake for 8-10 minutes in 225 degrees Celsius.

dec 19 021 (800x530)


Ca 30 lussekatter
1 g saffran (2 kuvert)
En skvätt cognac
75 g jäst
500 g kall mjölk
1200 g mjöl
200 g socker
150 g rumstempererat smör
5 g salt

Russin
Ägg

Lös upp saffranet i cognacen, ju förr desto bättre. Jag brukar göra det dagen innan jag ska baka, men hinner du inte det så går det lika bra med bara 10 minuter. Cognacen hjälper till att utveckla saffransmaken.
Lös upp jästen i mjölken och tillsätt de övriga ingredienserna.
Arbeta degen i 10-12 minuter i maskin eller 15-20 minuter för hand.
Låt degen vila i 10 minuter.
Forma dina lussekatter och låt dem sedan jäsa i ca 1 timme under bakduk.
Pensla lussekatterna med ägg och tryck i blödlagda russin i dem, eller om du hellre vill, strö över pärlsocker. Grädda katterna i mitten av ugnen i 225 grader i 8-10 minuter.

One thought on “Buns with Saffron – Lussekatter

  1. Pingback: Buns with saffron – Lussekatter | lelasfood

Leave a word

