Dill-cured Salmon – Gravad lax

First out this week is something that’s served on many Christmas tables around Sweden, dill-cured salmon. It’s one of my favorites and certainly something I don’t want to miss out on Christmas! Until now I have bought my dill-cured salmon ready from the store but this time I decided to make my own, and I have to tell you that’s extremely simple! I will absolutely continue to make my own dill-cured salmon in the future since it’s a real money saver and it’s just as delicious, if not better, than the one you can buy.

dec 16 001 (800x472)

Först ut denna vecka är något som serveras på många julbord runt om i Sverige, gravad lax. Gavad lax är definitivt en favorit på julbordet om ni frågar mig, och det får absolut inte saknas! Det är faktiskt första gången jag gör min egen gravade lax och jag kan berätta att det var extremt lätt! Mycket lättare än vad jag hade förväntat mig. Jag kommer definitivt att fortsätta göra min egen gravade lax i framtiden eftersom det spara väldigt mycket pengar samtidigt som det är minst lika gott (om inte bättre) som den köpta.

1 kilo salmon, frozen for 3 days (1 kilo lax, fryst i 3 dygn)
2/5 cup sugar (1 dl socker)
1/5 cup salt (1/2 dl salt)
10 white peppercorns (10 vitpepparkorn)
A bundle of dill (ett knippe dill)

dec 16 002 (800x530)

Mix together salt and sugar. Crush the white peppercorns with a mortar and mix it with the sugar and salt. Rub the salmon with the salt/sugar/pepper blend and then sprinkle over the dill. Put the salmon in a plastic bag and put it in the fridge with the seasoned side down and then place something heavy on top. Let the salmon rest for 2-3 days before eating it.
The salmon will be good to eat for at least a week.

Blanda samman socker och salt i en skål. Krossa vitpepparn och blanda den sedan med sockret och saltet. Gnid in laxen med kryddblandningen och klipp sedan över dillen. Lägg laxen i plastpåse och lägg den sedan med köttsidan nedåt i kylen med något tungt över i 2-3 dygn.
Laxen håller ca 1 vecka efter gravningen.

Leave a word

