Cherimoya – Hint of the day

Some days ago I bought this odd little fruit in a supermarket nearby. I had never seen it before and I just couldn’t walk by it without taking one with me. The fruit (for those out there, like me, who hasn’t seen one before) is called Cherimoya. You can read a lot of it here, but to keep it short it’s a fruit which is grown in different parts of the world like Central America, South Asia and Southern Carlifornia. The fruit also got a nick name, the Ice cream fruit, because of the fact that many people chill their fruits down and then enjoy it with a spoon.

nov 6 015

nov 6 019

After finishing my shopping and arriving at my apartment I googled it to try to understand how to eat it. To begin with I had bought an unripe one so I had to let it rest for some days before getting my hands on it. But, eventually the fruit got ripen and I could try it. I was actually impressed (beside the fact that about 40 percent of the fruit was made out of cores)! It tasted like a blend of avocado, banana and pineapple. I thought that this was a great blend since it got the creaminess and soft flavors from the avocado, the sweetness from the banana and the exotic twist and acidity from the pineapple. I will absolutely but this one again and for those of you out there who hasn’t tried it get, do it!

För några dagar sedan köpte jag den här konstiga lilla frukten i en butik i stan. Jag hade aldrig sett något liknande innan och med min stora passion för frukt så var det omöjligt att bara gå förbi. Frukten (för de som vet lika lite om den som jag gjorde) heter Cherimoya. Ni kan läsa om det här, men för att förkorta historien lite så kan jag berätta att den odlas på flera håll runt om i världen bland annat i södra Kalifornien och i Södra Asien. Frukten har även ett smeknamn, ”glass frukten” eftersom många väljer att kyla ner frukten och sedan äta den med sked.

nov 6 016

nov 6 017

Efter att jag hade kommit hem från affären så googlade jag frukten för att försöka förstå mig på hur den skulle ätas. Till att börja med så visade det sig att jag hade köpt en omogen Cherimoya så det var bara att låta den vila ett tag innan jag fick chansen att sätta tänderna i den. Till slut så var det då dags att testa och jag blev verkligen positivt överraskad (förutom det faktum att frukten till 40 % bestod av kärnor). Smaken är en blandning mellan avokado, banan och ananas. Jag tycker verkligen att det var en helgrym blandning med krämigheten och de milda smakerna från avokadon, sötheten från bananen och det lite exotiska och syrliga inslaget från ananasen. Jag kommer absolut att köpa den här lilla krabaten igen och för er som inte har testat Cherimoya så tycker jag absolut att ni ska göra det!

Leave a word

